To this day, Korn‘s Untouchables is looked back on with both reverence and amazement. The album, which dropped 20 years ago last week, was a huge one for the band, spawning the massive single “Here to Stay.” That said, it also cost a buttload of money to make, and was not as universally received by critics as the band’s previous two records were. Now, in a new interview, frontman Jonathan Davis has compared that record to another musical landmark: Pink Floyd‘s Dark Side of the Moon.

When asked by Metal Hammer about the reported cost of the record and how he looks back on it, Davis said the following:

“Simple fuckin’ thing. They say it cost around four million dollars to make. I’d say 3.1 of that was keeping our entire touring crew on retainer for two years. That was a dipshit move; we should have listened.

“It’s a very important record – one that couldn’t be made in this day and age. I call it the ‘heavy metal Asia’ because of the production and sound-quality… people use it to tune their speakers to this day. It’s our Dark Side Of The Moon, I love it. And that’s exactly what I told [producer] Michael Beinhom – ‘I want this to be our Dark Side Of The Moon’. He said ‘Cool, it’s gonna take a long time.’”

Did you know: if you start Untouchables at the exact same time as Queen of the Damned, you won’t be able to really hear either of them very well.

Get tickets to see Korn at one of their upcoming live dates with Evanescence:

Tue Aug 16 – Denver, CO – Ball Arena
Thu Aug 18 – Maryland Heights, MO – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Sat Aug 20 – Tinley Park, IL – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Sun Aug 21 – Clarkston, MI – Pine Knob Music Theatre
Tue Aug 23 – Cuyahoga Falls, OH – Blossom Music Center
Wed Aug 24 – Noblesville, IN – Ruoff Music Center
Fri Aug 26 – Mansfield, MA – Xfinity Center
Sat Aug 27 – Camden, NJ – Waterfront Music Pavilion
Sun Aug 28 – Wantagh, NY – Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater
Wed Aug 31 – Charlotte, NC – PNC Music Pavilion
Thu Sep 01 – Pelham, AL – Oak Mountain Amphitheatre
Sun Sep 04 – Houston, TX – The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
Tue Sep 06 – Dallas, TX – Dos Equis Pavilion
Fri Sep 09 – Salt Lake City, UT – USANA Amphitheatre
Sat Sep 10 – Nampa, ID – Ford Idaho Center
Tue Sep 13 – Spokane, WA – Spokane Arena
Thu Sep 15 – Auburn, WA – White River Amphitheatre
Fri Sep 16 – Ridgefield, WA – RV Inn Style Resorts Amphitheater